Skip to content
Curtin University
Curtin About us

University leadership

The University Council is our governing authority according to the Curtin University of Technology Act 1966. The Chancellor leads the Council.

The day-to-day running of the University is under the leadership of the Vice-Chancellor and a group of senior officers from academic and corporate areas.

University Council Members effective 1 April 2014


  • Professor Deborah Terry

Members appointed by Governor in Council

  • Mr Chris Bennett
  • Mr Kim Bridge
  • Mr Michael Lishman
  • Mr Keith Spence
  • Dr Michael Stanford (Pro Chancellor)
  • Vacant

Member nominated by the Minister for Education and Training

  • Ms Sue Wilson

Members elected by Full-Time Academic Staff

  • Professor Glennda Scully
  • Professor Sue Fyfe

Members elected by Students

  • Ms Cairney Lucks
  • Miss Eva Przenioslo

Member elected by Full-time Salaried (General) Staff

  • Mr Andy Sharp

Member elected by the Alumni Association

  • Vacant

Co-opted Members

  • Mr Colin Beckett (Chancellor)
  • Mr Steve Scudamore
  • Mr Gene Tilbrook

Up to three members who are members of bodies that represent the interests of the University in places other than the University's principal campus

  • Vacant

Member who is a member of the Academic Board elected by and from the Academic Board

  • Associate Professor Linley Lord

In Attendance

  • Director, Secretariat and Council Secretary
    Mr Jon Porter

Senior Officers of the University

Professor Debbie Terry

Provost & Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Professor Colin Stirling

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Education
Professor Jill Downie  

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research and Development
Professor Graeme Wright

Deputy Vice-Chancellor, International
Professor David Wood

Vice President, Corporate Relations and Development
Ms Val Raubenheimer

Vice President, Corporate Services
Mr Ian Callahan 

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Curtin Business School
Professor Tony Travaglione

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Curtin Sarawak
Professor James Mienczakowski  

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Curtin Singapore
Professor Robert Evans

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Health Sciences
Professor Michael Berndt

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Humanities
Professor Majella Franzmann 

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Science and Engineering
Professor Andris Stelbovics 

Chief Financial Officer
Mr David Menarry

transport image

On the side

The Bentley campus has 28 lecture theatres and 120 tutorial rooms.