Skip to main content

Awards and innovations

Graduation sash

Recognising and celebrating students and staff

The outstanding achievements of our students and staff have long been celebrated both within the University and internationally. Whether it’s our professors receiving national awards for excellence or students forging a successful career in international industry, Curtin is renowned for its innovation and producing academic excellence that ultimately benefits the wider community.

Australian Awards for University Teaching

Curtin’s commitment to excellence in education is reflected in our success at national level in the Office for Learning & Teaching’s Australian Awards for University Teaching, the most prestigious teaching awards in Australia. The awards recognise outstanding individual teachers, teaching teams and university teaching programs. Curtin nominees are consistently short listed and/or recognised as the most outstanding candidates.

2011 winners

Awards for Teaching Excellence

  • Ms Lisa Goldacre (School of Business Law and Taxation) – Award for Priority Area 2011: Teaching large classes
  • Dr Lisa Tee (School of Pharmacy) – Award for Biological Sciences, Health and Related Studies
  • Ms Katharina Wolf (School of Marketing) – Award for Early Career

Curtin winners from previous years can be found at the Office for Learning and Teaching website.

Curtin Excellence and Innovation in Teaching Awards

The Curtin Awards for Excellence and Innovation in Teaching are awarded annually and aim to provide recognition and reward for outstanding performances, by both individuals and teams, in teaching and in enhancing student learning.

All members of Curtin academic staff are eligible to be nominated, provided they have taught at Curtin for at least two years. Nomination for is open to academic staff, general staff and sessional staff.

2011 winners

Awards for Teaching Excellence

  • Linda Portsmouth, School of Public Health
  • Anna Bunn, School of Business Law & Taxation
  • Dr Mohamed Shahin, Department of Civil Engineering
  • Andrew Trosic, Department of Urban and Regional Planning
  • Dr Tama Leaver, Department of Internet Studies

Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning

  • Dr Leslie Almberg, Department of Applied Geology
  • Dr Susan Bolt, Curtin Business School
  • Associate Professor David Pick, School of Management

Programs that Enhance Student Learning

  • START Programs: Linking Retention Interventions
  • Interprofessional Practice Placement Program – Health Sciences

Vice-Chancellor’s List

The Vice-Chancellor’s List was created in 1991 to recognise Curtin undergraduate students, including Honours students, who excel academically. It awards all Curtin students who, at the completion of each semester, fall within the top one per cent of undergraduates.

An annual prize from our sponsor Qantas is awarded each year to the student who achieved the highest academic standards during the term of their degree. It is presented at the Vice-Chancellor’s List ceremony.

Find out more about the Vice-Chancellor’s List

John Curtin Medal

The John Curtin Medal is awarded by Curtin University of Technology to people who have made a significant contribution in their chosen field in Australia or internationally and who have exhibited John Curtin’s qualities of vision, leadership and community service.

2014 recipient

2013 recipients

2012 recipient

2011 recipient

2010 recipients

2009 recipient

2008 recipients

For more information on the John Curtin Medal and details of this year’s award, visit our John Curtin Day website.

Miles Franklin Literary Award

The Miles Franklin Literary Award is Australia’s most prestigious literary prize. Curtin alumni and Curtin staff have won the award seven times since the honour was first given in 1957.

Kim Scott

Professor Kim Scott is a Professor of Writing at Curtin’s School of Media, Culture and Creative Arts. He also works alongside the Centre for Aboriginal Studies and the Curtin Health Innovation Research Institute. He is an accomplished author, winning two Miles Franklin Literary Awards for his novels Benang (2000) and That Deadman Dance (2011). He is the first Indigenous author to win the award.

Tim Winton

Curtin alumnus, Tim Winton, is one of Australia’s cherished writers. His career has spanned three decades and during this time he has won four Miles Franklin Literary Awards for Breath (2009), Dirt Music (2002), Cloudstreet (1992) and The Shallows (1984). Tim Winton has also been nominated for the Man Booker Prize for Fiction for The Riders (1995).

In 2009, Curtin University honoured Tim Winton’s literary successes by naming a lecture theatre after him on the Bentley campus.

Elizabeth Jolley

Elizabeth Jolley was a cherished figure at Curtin University. In 1978, she started teaching part-time at the Western Australian Institute of Technology (now Curtin), becoming Writer in Residence in 1987. In 1998 she was appointed Professor of Creative Writing and later became Emeritus Professor in Curtin’s School of Communication and Cultural Studies.

Elizabeth Jolley won the 1986 Miles Franklin Literary Award for The Well.

Curtin University has named a lecture theatre, research collection and lecture series in honour of Elizabeth Jolley’s contribution to the University.