The Panel Pledge

The Panel Pledge initiative is designed to increase gender equity and diversity on panels at conferences, corporate events and other forums to increase the visibility of women and broaden and deepen the conversations generated.

Curtin supports the Panel Pledge as part of our commitment to gender equity and fostering diversity, and encourages all University staff to also ‘take the Pledge’.

A group shot of the Senior Executive Team (SET)
The Senior Executive Team unanimously support the Panel Pledge and encourages all Curtin staff to ‘take the Pledge’.

Take the pledge

As a signatory of the Curtin University Panel Pledge, I commit to:

  • only organising or participating in internal and external events that include gender diverse speakers and panel members
  • being an active advocate for gender balance and diversity
  • supporting and encouraging the voices of women
  • questioning the composition of panellists and speakers, and reserving my right to withdraw from events if gender balance and diversity is not achieved
  • encouraging my colleagues and friends to participate in the Panel Pledge.


For more information about the Panel Pledge and how you can uphold it, view the Panel Pledge Quick Guide.pdf [247 kB].

People who have taken the pledge

wdt_ID newcolumn New column New column new column
1 Professor Deborah Terry Vice-Chancellor Mr Ian Jackson Director, People and Culture Professor Sonia Dickinson
Dean of Learning and Teaching
Faculty of Business and Law
Professor Mark Buntine
Deputy Pro Vice-Chancellor, Science and Engineering
2 Professor John Cordery Provost Mrs Linda Adnyana Director
Regional Education and Strategic Projects
Professor Kirsten Holmes
Dean of Research, Faculty of Business and Law
Doctor Jonathan Hallett
Health Sciences
3 Professor Jill Downie
Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic
Ms Danelle Cross
Faculty of Business and Law
Doctor Toni Hannelly
Health Sciences
Mrs Julie Pheasant
5 Professor Chris Moran
Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research
Mrs Kathryn Clements Bridge
Faculty of Business and Law
Professor Rosa Alati
Health Sciences
Associate Professor Peter Kent
Health Sciences
6 Professor Seth Kunin
Deputy Vice-Chancellor, International
Ms Jane King
Corporate Relations
Mr Simon Jennings
Health Sciences
Associate Professor Amity Campbell
Health Sciences
7 Ms Val Raubenheimer
Vice President, Corporate Relations
Mr Peter Rogers
Professor Vanessa Chang
Faculty of Business and Law
Doctor Jun Chih
Health Sciences
8 Mr Ian Callahan
Chief Operating Officer
Ms Sue Rauh
Office of the Provost
Doctor Rebecca Walker
Doctor Lucinda Norman
Health Sciences
9 Professor Nigel de Bussy
Pro Vice-Chancellor,
Faculty of Business and Law
John Curtin Distinguished
Professor Christopher Reid
Health Sciences
Associate Professor Rachael Moorin
Health Sciences
Ms Michelle Withers
Health Sciences
10 Professor Archie Clements
Pro Vice-Chancellor,
Health Sciences
Associate Professor Sharon Maresse
Science and Engineering
Associate Professor Karina Jorritsma
Faculty of Business and Law
Doctor Britta Biedermann
Health Sciences
11 Professor Alan Dench
Pro Vice-Chancellor,
Associate Professor Courtenay Harris
Health Sciences
Doctor Eleanor Quested
Health Sciences
Professor Angus Buchanan
Health Sciences