Facts & figures


Curtin was established in 1966 as the Western Australian Institute of Technology (WAIT). It gained university status and was renamed Curtin University of Technology in 1987. In 2011 it became Curtin University.

John Curtin, from whom the University takes its name, is widely considered to be one of the country’s greatest leaders. He was Prime Minister of Australia from 1941 to 1945, when he died in office.

Study areas


Curtin PerthMajority of Curtin courses offered
Perth CityPostgraduate business courses
Curtin KalgoorlieMining education
Curtin University DubaiArts, commerce, science and engineering courses offered
Curtin University MalaysiaIdentical to courses delivered at Bentley
Curtin MauritiusArts, Commerce and the MBA Global
Curtin SingaporeBusiness, health sciences and mass communication courses
Curtin Online Curtin courses delivered fully online

In addition to these locations, we deliver select courses in humanities and business through several Western Australian regional centres including Albany, Geraldton and Port Hedland. If you’re considering studying at Curtin, our course pages contain information on where courses are delivered. Alternatively, contact Faculty of Business and Law or the Faculty of Humanities for more information on what’s available at our regional centres.


At Curtin, excellent learning and teaching is founded on and aspires to:

  1. Student learning through an outcomes-focused approach
  2. Flexibility and innovation
  3. Creative and appropriate applications of technology
  4. Appreciation of cultural diversity
  5. Research-based pedagogical practices

To compete and excel in the increasingly dynamic higher education sector, Curtin has implemented the Curriculum 2010 project, a three-year program to revitalise the University’s academic offerings.


Our research activities are concentrated around four areas of expertise:


Our partnerships with industry and government provide:

  • enhanced research capability from which Curtin and its partners can benefit
  • increased access to resources, learning and knowledge
  • more competitive offerings to students and external clients.

Curtin currently participates in 16 Cooperative Research Centres (CRC); 13 as a Core Partner and three as a Supporting Participant.

Curtin has been involved in several CSIRO national Research Flagships, including Wealth from the Oceans, Water for a Healthy Country, Light Metals, Energy Transformed, and Food Futures Flagship. The national Research Flagships are large-scale, multidisciplinary research partnerships that harness world-class expertise to tackle national research priorities.

In 2017 we also established the Aberdeen-Curtin Alliance, combining 500 years of academic strength, history and tradition at Scotland’s University of Aberdeen with the ambition and innovation of the rapidly growing Curtin University, based in Perth, Western Australia.


In 2014, Curtin awarded more than 400 scholarships, amounting to approximately $2 million.


Curtin has over 90 exchange partnerships with universities in more than 20 countries.


The Curtin bus terminal has the second-highest usage of any terminal in Perth, with more than 500 buses stopping each weekday during semester.